Slow Cooker Sundays

Once upon a time, I spent sundays waiting tables.  I used to call it my sunday brunch act.  I calmed strangers who got worked up over waiting until 10 am for their bloody mary or mimosa (Minnesota sunday law), or over their imperfectly poached Eggs Benedict.  Truth: sometimes I feigned empathy.  Usually, I returned home to sore feet- eyes on a beer and a nap.  Monday was known as my sunday brunch hangover, and I showed up to work those days slightly shell-shocked.  It was probably caused by people like Sunday Splenda Woman, whose voice rose into hysterics over the absence of her favorite sweetener at our restaurant– on her birthday.

porch shadow, post-ride

Now my Sundays are usually free.  Sundays are really quiet around Minneapolis.  These days, I always feel like the world is granting permission for me to either patter about my house lazily, or stare at the sky from a patio chair at some neighborhood restaurant.  An earlier version of myself would have felt guilty, certain that I should be rehearsing or planning for something.  Now I’m struck by the awesome of sunday.  Sometimes this sunday wonder even means productivity.  This weekend, for instance, we did laundry, grocery shopped, meal planned, brewed beer, slow-cooked, and retired with hulu episodes of Chopped.  Somehow all of those events managed to feel soothing- putting life in order to support the week’s events.  My favorite part was the unexpected bike trip back to the co-op for curry powder.  Life seemed all so beautiful, with the colorful, sparse leaves on the trees lining the street that I traveled.  So this was what I was missing when running around reciting the daily omelette?

We made chicken korma in the slow cooker.  Probably the magic of the slow cooker is that you can put a bunch of things in it and dream about the smell for six to eight hours while folding laundry or brewing beer.  The recipe was adapted from 365 days of slow cooking.

chicken korma

Chicken Korma

2 chicken breasts

1/2 C. red cooking wine (optional)

1 large potato

1 large onion

1 can diced tomatoes (it calls for a 14 oz one– whatever)

3-4 diced cloves of garlic

1/2 t. garam masala

1 t. curry powder

1 t. salt

1/2 t. ground pepper

1 t. chili powder

1 cinnamon stick

1/2 C. Greek yogurt

I used frozen chicken breasts.  If your chicken is thawed, cook it for less time.  Put the chicken on the bottom of the slow cooker.  Top with the garlic, onion, potato, and wine (if using).  Cover it all with the tomatoes and spices.  Cook for 6-8 hrs. on low.

When everything is cooked, stir in the yogurt.  Serve over rice.  Garnish with cilantro, if you like that kind of thing.

___________________________

Ben's a brewer

The beer kit we bought is from Midwest Brewing.  The process of brewing our beer batch took about 3 hours and filled the house with the smell of malt and hops.  Brilliant.

Sunday seemed to revolve around making a home.  And, lately, I just can’t get enough of that.  It is about comfort, and making a place where you can return, even when life gets messy.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sundays

  1. I love korma but have never tried to make it – this looks awesome and I love slow cooker meals. Think I might try swapping the chicken for seitan and see how it works.

    • Oooh….I’m sure that would be delicious! I was vegetarian (and vegan) for a long time, but I never did much with seitan. Let me know if you try it.

Leave a Reply

